Illinois governors (list)

Jay Robert “JB” Pritzker, a Democrat, took office as the 43rd governor of Illinois in 2019.

Previous governors, with party affiliation and years in office (reverse order)

Bruce Rauner (Republican), 2015-19
Patrick Quinn (Democrat) 2009-15
Rod Blagojevich (D), 2003-09
George Ryan (R), 1999-2003
Jim Edgar (R) 1991-99
Jim Edgar (R) 1991-99
James Thompson (R) 1977-91
Daniel Walker (D) 1973-77
Richard Ogilvie (R) 1969-73
Samuel Shapiro (D) 1968-69
Otto Kerner (D) 1961-68
William Stratton (R) 1953-61
Adlai Stevenson (D) 1949-53
Dwight Green (R) 1941-49
John Stelle (D) 1940-41
Henry Horner (D) 1933-40
Louis Emmerson (R) 1929-33
Len Small (R) 1921-29
Frank Lowden (R) 1917-21
Edward Dunne (D) 1913-17
Charles Deneen (R) 1905-13
Richard Yates (R) 1901-05
John Tanner (R) 1897-1901
John Peter Altgeld (D) 1893-97
Joseph Fifer (R) 1889-93
John Hamilton (R) 1883-85
Shelby Moore Cullom (R) 1877-83
John Beveridge (R) 1873-77
John Palmer (R,D) 1869-73
Richard Oglesby  (R) 1865-69, 1873-73, 1885-89
Richard Yates Sr. (R) 1861-65
John Wood (R) 1860-61
William Bissell (D, R) 1857-60
Joel Matteson  (D) 1853-57
Augustus French (D) 1846-53
Thomas Ford (D) 1842-46
Thomas Carlin (D) 1838-42
Joseph Duncan (D) 1834-38
William Ewing (D) 1834-34
John Reynolds (D) 1830-34
Ninian Edwards (D-R) 1826-30
Edward Coles  (D-R) 1822-26
Shadrack Bond (D-R) 1818-22


Original content copyright Sangamon County Historical Society. You are free to republish this content as long as credit is given to the Society. Learn how to support the Society. 

This entry was posted in Illinois capital, Politics, State government and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *