Sangamon County centennial marker dedication, 1921 (photo)


Above, children and others at the 1921 dedication of a marker at Second and Jefferson streets commemorating the decision a century earlier to designate Springfield as the seat of Sangamon County government. The marker was provided by the Springfield Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution. It since has been moved to the entrance of the Willard Ice Revenue Building.

Marker text: “On This Corner Was Built in 1821 The First Sangamon County Court House. A Log House One Story High and Twenty Feet Long costing $72.50. This Marker Erected By Springfield Daughters of the American Revolution April 2, 1921.”

Photo credit: Sangamon Valley Collectionschs logo (2)

Original content copyright Sangamon County Historical Society. You are free to republish this content as long as credit is given to the Society.


This entry was posted in Early residents, Historic Sites, Photos and photosets, Sangamon County and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *